The gluten-free flour it is a common ingredient used years ago for all kinds of foods, including breads, desserts and noodles. In general, most products are made from flour from some cereals and others known as pseudocereals.
The main problem lies in people suffering from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Luckily, we can find different types of gluten-free flour.
In this article we want to show you up to 14 types of gluten-free flours, especially recommended for celiac people.
Table of Contents
1. Almond flour
Almond flour is a type of gluten-free flour that is increasingly gaining in followers. It is prepared with peeled and ground almonds, removing the skin by mechanical means.
One cup of almond flour contains about 90 almonds, offering a nutty flavor. It is commonly used in the preparation of oven products and can be a effective alternative to bread.
It is usually substituted in a 1-to-1 ratio with common wheat flour. As a result, a somewhat thicker mass is obtained, a denser final product, such as a butter.
In terms of nutritional properties, almond flour contains a good mineral concentration, such as potassium, calcium, iron, magnesium, copper and manganese.
It’s also a good one. source of vitamin E and unsaturated fats, favorable for health.
The main handicap of this gluten-free flour is that the higher concentration of fat considerably increases calories, with an amount of 640 kcal per cup, almost 200 kcal more than the wheat flour usually used.
Both almonds and walnuts are gluten-free.
2. Brown rice flour
Brown rice flour is prepared from brown rice. It is classified as whole-grain flour. It has a flavor related to nuts such as nuts and can be used as a thickener in sauces or to bread food (meat and fish).
Gluten-free brown rice flour is frequently used to make noodles and blends perfectly with other gluten-free flours.
At the nutritional level, it contains a good ratio of protein and fiber, interesting to reduce body weight. It contains a good concentration of minerals such as magnesium, manganese and iron, as well as a biologically active compound known as lignano, to which cardioprotective properties are attributed.
3. Coconut flour
From the coconut many compounds are extracted to make flours and even in cosmetics, the coconut oil. It offers a light texture and at the gastronomic level it produces results very similar to the use of normal flour, so it can be used for the baking of desserts and breads.
Something to consider is that the gluten-free coconut flour it is able to absorb quite a bit more water compared to wheat flour. At the nutritional level, it has a high concentration of lauric acid, a type of triglyceride that takes energy and can act against LDL cholesterol.
4. Corn flour
To make gluten-free corn flour, the entire grain is used, including the germ and endosperm. It is commonly used as a thickening ghent for the preparation of beverages and the preparation of tortillas and breads is also common in Latin American countries (Colombia and Venezuela, among others).
On a nutritional level, it contains a good source of fiber and carotenoids interesting as lutein and zeaxanthin. Both substances have antioxidant properties and are related to eye health (reduces macular degeneration and the risk of cataracts).
5. Buckwheat flour
Buckwheat is not considered a wheat as such, and gluten ratio is much lower. It is considered as a pseudocereal, belonging to a group of grains that are used as cereals but are not within the grass family.
Buckwheat flour provides a rich flavor and earthy texture, and is suitable for bread baking.
Officially you can get a gluten-free flour, especially indicated for celiac people. At the nutritional level, it contains B vitamins and folic acid, and minerals such as iron, magnesium, zinc and manganese.
Buckwheat flour also contains some polyphenol-type antioxidants, with anti-inflammatory properties scientifically contrasted.
However, it must be taken into account that in the buckwheat cultivation there may be cross-contamination with gluten-rich foods during cultivation or transport, so high handling standards are needed.
6. Sorghum flour
Sorghum is a very old cereal that was commonly used 5,000 years ago. The grain is gluten-free and is considered the 5th most important cereal worldwide.
As for the appearance, it has a light color and earthy texture, with a very mild and sweetened flavor. It is considered a heavy and quite dense flour, and is usually mixed with different flours to make a mix of products with more properties.
On a nutritional level, sorghum contains a high level of fiber and protein, which makes it easier to reduce the absorption of sugars into the bloodstream.
It also contains a large amount of minerals, specialIron, and several interesting antioxidants.
7. Amaranth flour
Amaranth is a genus of herbaceous plants in the family. Amaranthaceae and from which gluten-free flour can also be obtained. In the same way that buckwheat is considered, it is also a pseudocereal.
At the time, amaranth was a main food for the Inca, Mayan and Aztec civilizations. It has an earthy flavor with nutty tones and has a great ability to absorb other flavors.
This type of flour needs to be combined with others to make a final product, since it only replaces 25% of wheat flour. With it you can prepare cakes, cakes and bread.
At the nutritional level, it contains a good amount of fiber and proteins, and is also interesting for its content in microelements (iron, manganese and selenium).
8. Teff flour
It is known as Eragrostis tef or simply teff, and is the smallest grain in the world, with a size 100 times smaller than wheat. It offers a mixture of different colors such as white, red or brown, with different flavor. Lighter shades provide a milder flavor, while darker tones give more depth.
Gluten-free teff flour has traditionally been used to make injera, an Ethiopian crepe-like bread that is made through the fermentation of sourdough. Currently it is also used to prepare other foods such as cereals and breads.
On a nutritional level, teff flour is high in vegetable proteins, which facilitates a quick feeling of filling and satiety, useful for diets or avoiding gluttony. In addition, it contains high levels of fiber that facilitate blood sugar control and helps with weight loss.
Teff contains a higher level of minerals such as calcium compared to other types of grains.
Gluten-free oatmeal is prepared from whole grain oat cereal. At the gastronomic level, using this flour you get a much crunchier texture than with wheat flour.
Baking using oatmeal also increases the moisture concentration to the final product. It is gluten-free and perfectly suited to the production of light and fluffy baked goods, such as biscuits.
At the nutritional level, it contains a type of soluble fiber known as beta-glucan, with many healthy advantages. This fiber helps reduce the level of bad cholesterol (LDL), and regulates sugar and insulin levels. It contains minerals such as mangnesium and phosphorus, and B vitamins.
Oats have a biologically active compound known as avenantramide, very interesting for its health benefits.
10. Chickpea flour
Chickpeas provide a grainy texture and are widely used in Indian and Middle Eastern cuisine. In addition, chickpea flour is required to make well-known recipes such as falafel, hummus and bread socca.
On a nutritional level, it provides an interesting source of soluble fiber and vegetable proteins. It contains minerals such as potassium and magnesium, involved in cardiovascular health, reducing hypertension and bone health.
11. Tapioca flour
Tapioca flour is made with the liquid starch of Cassava root from South America. It is usually used as a thickening agent in the preparation of sauces and soups, since it does not provide any added flavor.
It can be used in combination with other groups of gluten-free flours for bread making. On a nutritional level, it has a high carbohydrate content and low concentration of fiber and protein, so it is not as interesting as other gluten-free flours.
A benefit studied by the scientific community of tapioca flour is its concentration in starch, which has similar abilities to fiber at the digestive level. It is able to reduce insulin sensitivity, lower concentration of sugars and satisfy appetite.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, make sure tapioca flour is not combined with other flour that contains gluten.
12. Cassava flour
Cassava is a tuber or tuber starch originating in South America. It is also known as cassava.
Unlike tapioca flour, which is made from a starchy liquid extracted from cassava root, from its drying. It is quite balanced and can replace wheat perfectly. It provides a neutral flavor and is easily digestible, providing fewer calories than coconut or almond flours.
At the nutritional level, it is quite similar to cassava, providing practically all carbohydrates. It also contains high concentrations of starch.
13. Tigernut flour
The tigernut is a seed from which a very characteristic drink of the Mediterranean area is produced, especially in the Valencian Community. It is considered as an edible tuber from which gluten-free flour can also be prepared.
It offers a sweet and nutty-like taste, and can be used to prepare baked recipes, especially desserts, due to its sugar content.
In terms of texture, it is somewhat heavier compared to wheat flour. It contains quite a bit of fiber and healthy monounsaturated fat groups.
14. Arrowroot flour
Arrowroot flour (Maranta arundinacea) is a type of gluten-free flour quite little known in the market. It is made from the starch of a tropical species of the family Marantaceae.
It offers a lot of versatility and is interesting for its thickening action or mix with other flours, such as almonds, coconut or tapioca. It is especially recommended for dessert recipes.
At the nutritional level, it has a high potassium content ( 454 mg/100g) and B vitamins.